Assault and Battery in Rhode Island: The Variations Within a Complex Set of Laws

Assault and battery in Rhode Island is a bit of a complex legal road to maneuver, particularly because there's so many variations in what constitutes assault and battery. Further, there's a wide distinction between the definitions of assault and battery. The definition of assault in Rhode Island can mean not even touching someone and being just a threat. Battery, though, usually does mean some kind of physical contact that's caused someone harm.

Take a look at the variations on each term so you can get a clear picture of what you might have to face if accused of any assault and battery charges.

The Variation on Being Accused of Battery

You might have a charge of negligent battery where you're accused of causing harm to someone due to neglecting their safety. These situations happen often with children and a possible caretaker not taking measures to ensure the child's welfare. However, negligent battery can apply to anyone and basically gives the impression the accused person is uncaring about the safety of human life.

It's a serious charge that can bring 10 years in prison and fines reaching $10,000, says Assaultandbattery.org.

Felony Assault Laws

You generally have two charges of felony assault that pertain to threatening someone with a dangerous weapon, whether a gun, knife, or by fire. The first is the general felony assault charge where you could get up to 20 years in prison if you cause serious bodily harm. The second law is one where you had full intent of harming someone with the above weapon. This charge is equally serious as you might expect and can also mean 20 years in prison or a minimum of one year.

Assault Laws with Firearms

Assault crimes with guns are a common crime nationwide, and Rhode Island is very strict on threatening someone with a firearm. If there was intent to rob someone or murder them in a home, the charges are very severe and could mean spending the rest of your life behind bars. The minimum sentence is about 10 years.

Likewise, Rhode Island also takes threats from a toy gun to be a serious threat. While you may not have intended a toy gun or a fake weapon to cause harm, you may end up in prison for several years if no physical harm done. If you managed to cause physical harm, you could go to jail for up to a decade.

A General Assault and Battery Conviction

Despite all the variations above, there's also a general law that applies to assault and battery. This law is far less severe, though you could face a year in jail only because the crime doesn't fit any specific category.

If you've been falsely accused of an assault and battery in Rhode Island, consider Rameaka Law Offices Inc. as your comprehensive legal source for expert criminal defense.

Contact us and we'll review your case so we can start the procedure of clearing your good name. With the complexities of Rhode Island's assault and battery laws, you'll find our longtime experience will give you the best chances of finding a light at the end of the litigation tunnel.